On November 29, 1959 the Missouri Recreation Association and the Missouri Recreation and Park Society merged forming the Missouri Park and Recreation Association (MPRA). MPRA serves as the voice for parks and recreation in Missouri on the local, state and national level.

The nonprofit association, whose members work to provide opportunities for all the state’s citizens to enjoy quality leisure activities, is dedicated to promoting public support for parks and recreation and public awareness of the contribution of recreation to a balanced life.

The association works to ensure the growth and improve the quality and accessibility of urban and rural parks, open spaces and recreational lands, facilities and programs for all Missourians. It promotes research and information dissemination on park, conservation, recreation and leisure issues.​

MPRA strives to maintain high standards of professional ethics and practices by promoting continuing education for its membership. The association encourages the support of college and university curricula to enhance research and assure a well-trained stream of future professionals.

MPRA cooperates with public, private and voluntary agencies to assure provision of quality park, recreation, and conservation programs.

MPRA is governed by a board of directors elected by the general membership. The association maintains a headquarters office with a full-time staff in Jefferson City. MPRA is an affiliate member of the National Recreation and Park Association.


Our Mission... To advocate the quality of life through effective use of parks and recreation opportunities, education, and resources.





Gary Gates

Gary Gates, CPRP

Executive Director


Sarah Veile, CPRP

Assistant Executive Director

Heather Pirner.jpg

Heather Rice

Membership & Marketing Specialist

Our Address
Office Hours

2018 William Street

Jefferson City, MO 65109

Monday – Friday  8:00AM – 4:30PM

info@mopark.org \\ Tel: 573.636.3828 

Board Leadership

Executive Committee:

President: Brian Schaffer, Des Peres Parks & Recreation

Incoming President: Miki McKee Koelsch, Webster Groves Parks & Rec

Past President: Chad Shoemaker, Mexico Parks & Recreation

Secretary/Treasurer: Mike Snyder, Columbia Parks & Recreation

Northwest Region (1)

Director: Nate Williams, Excelsior Springs Parks & Rec 

Director-Elect: vacant

Past Director: Jende Smith, St. Joseph Parks & Recreation

Southwest Region (3)

Director: Jennafer Mayfield , Republic Parks & Recreation

Director-Elect: Jon Carney, Springfield-Greene County Park Board

Past Director: Jason Knight, Willard Parks & Recreation

Directors at Large:

     Steve Clark, Webster Groves Parks & Recreation 

     Gabe Huffington, Columbia Parks & Recreation 

     Jody Siemer, Kansas City Parks & Recreation

     Dave Musgrave, Ferguson Parks & Recreation 

     Eilien Ramirez, Crestwood Parks & Recreation

Northeast Region (2)

Director: Janet Godon, Columbia Parks & Recreation

Director-Elect: Angie Toebben, Jefferson City Parks & Recreation

Past Director: Cassie Brandt, Columbia Parks & Recreation

Southeast Region (4)

Director: James Boyd, Ballwin Parks & Recreation

Director-Elect: Chris Cholley, Bridgeton Parks & Recreation

Past Director: vacant


Aquatics Section President: Karen Herbig, Clayton Parks & Recreation 2020 SLATE [CEU Form] [JAN19 Agenda]

Leisure Educators Section President: Hugh Gibson, Missouri State University

Park Resources Section President: Jeff Atkins, St. Joseph Parks & Recreation 2020 SLATE

Sports Section President: Chad Unterreiner, Marshall Parks & Recreation 2020 SLATE

Student Section President: Jason Young, University of Missouri

Young Professionals Section President: Jody Siemer, Kansas City Parks & Recreation 2020 SLATE



© 2018 Missouri Park & Recreation Association. All rights reserved. 
info@mopark.org | 1-573-636-3828

Online transactions are charged at the end of the business day. Fax/mail transactions will be charged at the end of the business day it is received. All transactions are made in US Dollars ($) 


Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon